Press "Enter" to skip to content

How To Build Emotional Intimacy: The Ultimate Guide For 2021

At Practical Intimacy we’re committed to keeping our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy. We use only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles.

Aron, A., Melinat, E., Aron, E., Vallone, R., & Bator, R. The Experimental Generation of Interpersonal Closeness: A Procedure and Some Preliminary Findings. Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin. https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/0146167297234003

Aron, E. Ph.D. (2015, January 14) 36 Questions for Intimacy, Back Story. Psychology Today. https://www.psychologytoday.com/intl/blog/attending-the-undervalued-self/201501/36-questions-intimacy-back-story

Brené, B. (2010). The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are. Hazelden Publishing.

Cullen, M. (2020, January 30). How to Regulate Your Emotions Without Suppressing Them. Greater Good Magazine, Berkeley. https://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/how_to_regulate_your_emotions_without_suppressing_them

Ellingsen, D. M., Leknes, S., Løseth, G., Wessberg, J., & Olausson, H. (2016). The Neurobiology Shaping Affective Touch: Expectation, Motivation, and Meaning in the Multisensory Context. Frontiers in psychology6, 1986. https://doi.org/10.3389/fpsyg.2015.01986

Ferris, T. (2009, April 24) On The Shortness of Life: An Introduction to Seneca. Tim Ferris. https://tim.blog/2009/04/24/on-the-shortness-of-life-an-introduction-to-seneca/

Holiday, R. n.d. “Momento Mori”: The Reminder We All Desperately Need. Daily Stoic. https://dailystoic.com/memento-mori/

Mager, D. (2020, November 13) There’s Nothing Positive About Toxic Positivity. Psychology Today. https://www.psychologytoday.com/intl/blog/some-assembly-required/202011/there-s-nothing-positive-about-toxic-positivity

Otto, A. K., Laurenceau, J. P., Siegel, S. D., & Belcher, A. J. (2015). Capitalizing on everyday positive events uniquely predicts daily intimacy and well-being in couples coping with breast cancer. Journal of family psychology : JFP : journal of the Division of Family Psychology of the American Psychological Association https://doi.org/10.1037/fam0000042

Oppland, M. (2020, September 01). How Mindfulness Can Grow Emotional Intelligence, PositivePsychology.com https://positivepsychology.com/mindfulness-emotional-intelligence/

Parker, W. (2020, February 04). 40 Questions to Help Build Intimacy in a Relationship. VeryWellMind. https://www.verywellmind.com/questions-to-build-intimacy-in-relationships-1270942

University of California – Los Angeles. (2007, June 22). Putting Feelings Into Words Produces Therapeutic Effects In The Brain. ScienceDaily. www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2007/06/070622090727.htm

Comments are closed.